Login

Menu

Welcome !

Welcome to Troop 642's Home Page!

Update January 21st, 2018

This week: Road to First Class at 6:30 and Scout Skills/Knowledge Night at 7:30 pm. We will focus on rank requirements and advancement based trivia (think of it as Scoutmaster Conference baseball.)
 
We will also continue instruction in the Religious Emblems Program for the boys interested in completing that as part of their Duty to God requirements.
 
Patrol Leaders: Please make sure you pass on the information you received during PLC, especially about Nights Camped.
 
Next week: Court of Honor at 7:00 pm.
 
Next Month (2/13): PLC at 6:30 and Scout Skills Night at 7:30 pm. We will focus on knots and lashings in preparation for this Spring's Camporee competition. The Knot Tying Relay is the event we're sponsoring - so we darn well better be the best at it. The knots you need to know are as follows:
 
Clove Hitch
Bowline
Two half-hitches
Square Knot
Sheet Bend
Timber Hitch
Slip knot
Fisherman's knot
Taut-line hitch
Sheepshank
 
This is not easy, which is why we will be practicing them A LOT.
 
January Court of Honor: January 30th will be our Winter Court of Honor. Please turn in all rank advancement paperwork (Board of Review) and Merit Badge Blue Cards by tomorrow night.
 
Eagle Scout Application Fee: Effective March 1st, the Orange County Council will be assessing a filing fee for Eagle Scout applications. The fee will be $120 with applications to defray the costs to the council to file. The logistics are being worked out as to who will be collecting. You will be receiving the Eagle Scout gift set with this fee [what this is precisely is uncertain and I will find out]. We were asked to please pass this along to our respective troops. This information was passed along to me this weekend by our district Eagle Advancement Chair. 
 
Parent needed for this weekend's campout:  John Byone's campout to Jalama Beach is this coming weekend and he still needs an adult to come and drive. If your son isn’t already signed up, he can come as well. 
 
Nights Camped: Bring a pen or pencil and paper tomorrow night in order to turn in a nights camped report for 2017. You should be recording it in your Scout Manual so it should be a snap to write it down.
 
Adult Training: Online training is available now. A LOT of it. Please go online to http://voiceofscouting.org/scouting-u-finishes-online-training to see more details.
 
Summer Camp 2018: Troop 642 will be attending Camp Emerald Bay in Catalina from June 24 - June 30. Emerald Bay is widely considered the premier Boy Scout Camp on the West Coast. We have reserved 32 spots for Scouts (and only 12 signed up so far) and 8 spots for adults (which I am hoping will be taken up by some of our graduating seniors.) Please look for the sign-up folder tonight. A $100 non-refundable deposit is required to guarantee your spot.
 
Outings update: I know there are several scouts who need to lead a campout to complete their camping merit badge. Plenty of you have good ideas rolling around in your heads about places that you would like to go visit. Even if it is not for the Camping Merit Badge, let's get camping! Please see me so we can set up an outing. 
 
Snow Sports Merit Badge Day: On February 9th, 2018, Tom Dagerman will lead our now-annual pilgrimage to Snow Valley to take the boys to earn the Snow Sports Merit Badge. The fee is $85 and includes lift ticket, equipment rental (skis or snowboard), lesson, lunch and transportation. The boys always have a great time. It is fun to go even if you have already earned the merit badge!
 
Calendar of events for the near future
 
January
 
Tue Jan 23 - Road to First Class @ 6:30 pm
Tue Jan 23 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Fri Jan 26 - Sun Jan 28 - Jalama Beach Campout
Tue Jan 30 - Troop 642 Court of Honor
 
February
 
Mon Feb 5 - Troop Committee Meeting 7:30 pm (Rush Park East Room)
Tue Feb 6 - Patrol meetings
Thu Feb 8 - OFD Roundtable @ 7:30 pm
Thu Feb 8 - Sun Feb 11 - Malibu Beach Campout
Fri Feb 9 - Snow Sports Merit Badge Day @ Snow Valley
Tue Feb 13 - Patrol Leaders Council @ 6:30 pm
Tue Feb 13 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Sat Feb 17 - Seal Beach Clean-up 9 am - 12 pm
Sat Feb 17 - Mon Feb 19 - Anza Borrego Backpacking Trip
Tue Feb 20 - Road to First Class @ 6:30 pm
Tue Feb 20 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Sat Feb 24 - Paintball Day @ Camp Pendleton
Tue Feb 27 - Road to First Class @ 6:30 pm
Tue Feb 27 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
 
March
 
Fri Mar 2 - Sun Mar 4 Adult Basic Backpacking Course (HAT Training)
Mon Mar 5 - Troop Committee Meeting 7:30 pm (Rush Park East Room)
Tue Mar 6 - Patrol meetings
Thu Mar 8 - OFD Roundtable @ 7:30 pm
Sat Mar 10 - Sun Mar 11 - Mount Lowe Railway Backpacking Trip
Tue Mar 13 - Patrol Leaders Council @ 6:30 pm
Tue Mar 13 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Fri Mar 16 - Sun Mar 18 - Practice Camporee @ El Dorado Park
Sat Mar 17 - Seal Beach Clean-up 9 am - 12 pm
Tue Mar 20 - Road to First Class @ 6:30 pm
Tue Mar 20 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Fri Mar 23 - Sun Mar 25 - Climb the Night Away @ Lost Valley
Sat Mar 24 - RunSealBeach Volunteer Activity
Tue Mar 27 - Road to First Class @ 6:30 pm
Tue Mar 27 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
 
April
 
Mon Apr 2 - Troop Committee Meeting 7:30 pm (Rush Park East Room)
Mon Apr 2 - Thu Apr 5 - Havasupai Indian Reservation Backpack
Tue Apr 3 - Patrol meetings
Tue Apr 10 - Patrol Leaders Council @ 6:30 pm
Tue Apr 10 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Thu Apr 12 - OFD Roundtable @ 7:30 pm
Tue Apr 17 - Road to First Class @ 6:30 pm
Tue Apr 17 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Fri Apr 20 - Sun Apr 22 - Orange Frontier District Camp-O-Ree (Firestone)
Sat Apr 21 - Seal Beach Clean-up 9 am - 12 pm
Tue Apr 24 - Road to First Class @ 6:30 pm
Tue Apr 24 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Sat Apr 28 - Mount Baldy Day Hike
 
May
 
Tue May 1 - Patrol meetings
Mon May 7 - Troop Committee Meeting 7:30 pm (Rush Park East Room)
Tue May 8 - Patrol Leaders Council @ 6:30 pm
Tue May 8 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Thu May 10 - OFD Roundtable @ 7:30 pm
Sat May 12 - Scout-O-Rama
Tue May 15 - Road to First Class @ 6:30 pm
Tue May 15 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Sat May 19 - Seal Beach Clean-up 9 am - 12 pm
Sat May 19 - Sun May 20 - William Heise State Park Car Camp
Tue May 22 - Road to First Class @ 6:30 pm
Tue May 22 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Sat May 26 - Mon May 28 - Channel Islands Backpacking Trip
Sat May 26 - Mon May 28 - River Rafting Trip (weather dependent)
Tue May 29 - Troop 642 Court of Honor
 
June
 
Sat Jun 2 - Sun Jun 3 - San Gorgonio Mountain Backpacking Trip
Mon Jun 4 - Troop Committee Meeting 7:30 pm (Rush Park East Room)
Tue Jun 5 - Patrol meetings
Tue Jun 12 - Patrol Leaders Council @ 6:30 pm
Tue Jun 12 - Troop Meeting @ 7:30 pm
Thu Jun 14 - OFD Roundtable @ 7:30 pm
Fri Jun 15 - Mon Jun 18 - Cottonwood Lakes Backpacking Trip
Fri Jun 15 - Sun Jun 17 - Long Beach Council NYLT Training (Weekend 1)
Sat Jun 16 - Kayaking Merit Badge Day
Tue Jun 19 - Summer Troop 642 Family BBQ @ 6:30 pm @ Rush Park
Sat Jun 16 - Seal Beach Clean-up 9 am - 12 pm
Fri Jun 22 - Sun Jun 24 - Long Beach Council NYLT Training (Weekend 1)
Sat Jun 23 - Archery & Fishing Merit Badge Day @ Oso Lake
Sun Jun 24 - Sat Jun 30 - Camp Emerald Bay Summer Camp
 
July
 
Mon Jul 2 - Troop Committee Meeting 7:30 pm (Rush Park East Room)
Tue Jul 3 - Patrol meetings
Sat Jul 7 - Sat Jul 14 - John Muir Trail Backpacking Trip - Devil's Postpile
Thu Jul 12 - OFD Roundtable @ 7:30 pm
Tue Jul 10 - Patrol Leaders Council @ 6 pm @ Rush Park
Tue Jul 10 - Troop Meeting @ 7 pm @ Rush Park
Sat Jul 21 - Seal Beach Clean-up 9 am - 12 pm
Tue Jul 17 - Road to First Class @ 6 pm @ Rush Park
Tue Jul 17 - Troop Meeting @ 7 pm @ Rush Park
Tue Jul 24 - Road to First Class @ 6 pm @ Rush Park
Tue Jul 24 - Troop Meeting @ 7 pm @ Rush Park
Thu Jul 26 - Sun Jul 29 - Yosemite Intermediate Backpacking Trip 
 
Scoutmaster Minute: Please ask your Scout to recite to you the Scout Oath and Law, and for extra credit, ask for the Outdoor Code. Ask them to tell YOU what each mean to THEM. Please take the time to really find out if they understand what they've been reciting all this time...

 

Site Counter

Visitors

Upcoming Events

  • no upcoming events available